10/10/13- Recipients of the 2013 Research Enhancement Grant announced.  

EVMS Research is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s EVMS Research Enhancement Grant and Technology Development Grant. These programs, made possible by Dean Homan, seek to foster collaborations among EVMS faculty with the goal of catalyzing innovation and new research. One Technology Development and four Research Enhancement applications were selected through a competitive review process.

Technology Development: Dr. Patrick Lundberg (Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology)- Developing a novel assay to assess genetic predisposition towards excessive central nervous system (CNS) inflammation during acute viral infection or traumatic brain injury.  Collaborator- Dr. Brent Ibata (Sentara Heart Hospital)

Research Enhancement: Dr. Liwei Huang (Nephrology and Hypertension)- Macrophage-derived Wnt5a plays an important role in diabetic nephropathy. Collaborators- Dr. Jerry Nadler and Dr. Anca Dobrian

Dr. Julius Nyalwidhe (Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology)- Metabolite biomarkers of aggressive prostate cancer in African Americans. Collaborators- Dr. Raymond Lance, Dr. Dean Troyer and Dr. OJ Semmes

Dr. Elena Galkina (Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology)- Implication of the immune response in islet dysfunctions of type 2 diabetic human islets. Collaborator- Dr. Yumi Imai

Dr. Yumi Imai (Internal Medicine)- Restoration of beta cells by betatrophin and anti-inflammatory therapy. Collaborator- Dr. Jerry Nadler

9/13/13- Dr. Jerry Nadler, Professor and Chair of Internal Medicine announced as Vice Dean for Research. In this capacity, Dr. Nadler will provide executive leadership and strategic oversight for the EVMS research enterprise. The full announcement is available Organizational Change Announcement.

The Pediatrics Division of Community Health and Research and the Office of Research would like to invite the EVMS faculty and staff to a workshop for helping Faculty find extramural resources for community-based programming, including public health and community-related engagement and research.  Key topics presented by Dr. Kaethe Ferguson (Associate professor of Pediatrics) include:

  • Developing a Varied Community Funding Portfolio
  • Developing Relationships
  • Spreading the word
  • Finding funders
  • Writing grant proposals

A panel and discussion of community-based programs by EVMS faculty will also take place.  The full preliminary agenda can be accessed here: Workshop 3-14-13

Registration is required.  To register, please contact Thomas Abbott (757.446.8480 or abbottts@evms.edu) before March 10, 2013.  Lunch will be provided.

PCORI (Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute) has released funding opportunities for a 5th national priority: Accelerating patient-centered and methodological research (ie. Including patients and caregivers in the design of research that is quick, safe and efficient. To learn more about PCORI and their funding areas visit their website: http://www.pcori.org/

EVMS Faculty are invited to participate in the Pediatrics Summer Scholars Program and submit descriptions of projects available in their lab for summer students.  The deadline to submit the Pediatrics SSR Faculty Form is January 18, 2013. For more information contact Amy Perkins

EVMS Research is pleased to announce the recipients of the first EVMS Research Enhancement Grant. This new program, made possible by Dean Richard V. Homan, MD, seeks to foster collaborations among EVMS faculty with the goal of stimulating innovation and new research. The three collaborations selected for funding are:

Stephen I. Deutsch, MD, PhD, Professor and Chair of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and Amy H. Tang, PhD, Associate Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology, will study dysregulated RAS/PI3K signaling in autism spectrum disorders (ASDs);

Larry D. Sanford, PhD, Professor of Pathology and Anatomy, and Richard P. Ciavarra, PhD, Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology, will study the relationship between stress, immune function and sleep;

Neel K. Krishna, PhD, Associate Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology; Julius O. Nyalwidhe, PhD, Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology in the Leroy T. Canoles Jr. Cancer Research Center; Kenji M. Cunnion, MD, Associate Professor of Pediatrics; and Frank A. Lattanzio Jr., PhD, Associate Professor of Physiological Sciences, will collaborate to evaluate the pharmacokinetics and toxicity of complement-suppressing peptides. 

The NSF Directorate for Biological Sciences (BIO) has recently initiated new procedures for the submission and review of regular research proposals to the core programs within the Division of Molecular and Cellular Biosciences (MCB), Environmental Biology (DEB), and Integrative Organismal Systems (IOS). Effective immediately, DEB and IOS will both implement an annual cycle of preliminary and full proposals beginning in January 2012. Read more about the NSF announcement.


Read the about the EVMS Conflicts of Interest policy changes‌ affecting all faculty and researchers.