According to the Virginia Board of Medicine, "Continuing learning includes processes whereby practitioners engage in activities with the conscious intention of bringing about changes in attitudes, skills or knowledge, for the purpose of identifying or solving ethical, professional, community or other problems which affect the health of the public."

The Commonwealth of Virginia has defined the following educational requirements for licensure:

Number of hours required

"In order to renew an active license biennially, the practitioner must complete the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form, which is provided by the Board and must indicate completion of at least 60 hours of continuing learning activities. 

30 hours shall be Type 1 continuing learning activities as documented by an accredited sponsor or organization sanctioned by the profession to designate learning activities for credit or other value. Remaining hours may be gained through self-study or other Type I activities. All 60 hours required by the Board may be Type 1 hours.

30 of the 60 hours may be Type 2 continuing learning activities, which may or may not be approved for credit by an accredited sponsor or organization sanctioned by the profession to designate learning activities for credit or other value. Physicians shall document their own participation in Type 2 learning activities..." - 18VAC85-20-235

Review a complete listing of laws and regulations governing medical professionals.

What constitutes Category 1 credit?

Category 1 CME (or AMA PRA Category 1 credit) are those formal activities that are based on a planning process that includes a needs assessment, learning objectives, educational design, and assessment. These activities are planned in full compliance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, the Standards for Integrity and Independence in Accredited Continuing Education, and the AMA gifts to physicians from industry policy. These activities are certified by an accredited provider such as EVMS.

What is Category 2 credit?

Category 2 credit is defined as all educational activities that:

  • are not designated for Category 1
  • comply with the AMA definition of CME, the AMA ethical opinions on Gifts to Physicians from Industry and on Ethical Issues in CME (i.e., are not promotional)
  • a physician finds to be worthwhile learning experiences related to his/her practice

Category 2 credit can be claimed for teaching residents, medical students or other health professionals, unstructured online searching and reading, reading authoritative medical literature, self-assessment activities, consultation with peers and medical experts, medical writing, preceptorships, research, and small group discussion. Physicians are required to self-document.

Source: AMA PRA booklet, p. 10

Accredited providers such as EVMS do not designate activities for Category 2 credit.