L.D. Britt, MD, MPH, an internationally recognized surgeon and leader in academic medicine, serves as EVMS Vice Dean for Clinical Affairs.

In 2021, Dr. Britt was chosen to receive the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to just five people in the organization’s 108-year history. He is also the Edward J. Brickhouse Chair in Surgery, the Henry Ford Professor of Surgery and Professor and Chair of EVMS Surgery.

As Vice Dean, Dr. Britt provides leadership and strategic direction for all EVMS-sponsored patient-care programs and activities in concert with EVMS Medical Group leadership. He also acts as an important liaison between clinical faculty, departments and senior management, working closely with clinical department chairs.

Dr. Britt has served in numerous leadership roles at EVMS and nationally. He is a past Director of the American Board of Surgery, a past Chair of the Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons and past President of the American College of Surgeons. He was the first EVMS physician to be named to the National Academy of Medicine.

Britt is a graduate of both Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Public Health. He completed his surgical residency at University Hospital and Cook County Hospital at the University of Illinois School of Medicine, and his fellowship training at the Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services, University of Maryland, Baltimore, and Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis.

He joined the EVMS faculty in 1986, was a founding member of the Level 1 Trauma Center at Sentara Norfolk General Hopsital and has served as Chair of EVMS Surgery since 1994