The Medical Society of Virginia Foundation (MSVF) presented Jonathan Taylor-Fishwick, MD Class of 2021, the Salute to Service Award.

The award is given to a medical student or resident for their outstanding efforts to substantially improve patient care both locally and abroad.

“Since starting medical school, Jonathan Taylor-Fishwick has actively contributed to improving the health of underserved communities,” says Ronald Flenner, MD (MD ’89) Vice Dean of Academic Affairs. “While maintaining good academic standing, Jon has spent countless hours both starting several programs, as well as improving several existing programs.” 

Among those programs are the EVMS chapter of the Medical Society of Virginia, HOPES Clinic, La Clínica Esperanza and REVIVE!. During his volunteer service with those groups he has created a Medicaid enrollment program, spearheaded clinic quality improvement projects, launched a book drive for Spanish-language children’s books and initiated a Community-Engaged Learning project to help communities respond to the opioid epidemic. He has also spent time abroad helping Hispanic communities, started a pediatric free clinic, and passed resolutions into MSV policy.

His mentor, Stephanie Peglow, DO, MPH, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, describes him as one of the most dedicated and selfless medical students that she has ever had the honor to work with. “Not only do Jon's actions to serve show his commitment to the undeserved, but his leadership ability and charisma inspires everyone around him.” 

In addition to faculty members, fellow student Matthew Van de Graaf also nominated Mr. Taylor Fishwick for the award. “That is probably the most humbling part about all of this,” says Mr. Taylor-Fishwick. “Receiving the Student to Service Award is such an amazing honor, and knowing that my colleagues thought I was worthy of it and that they wanted to put the time and effort into nominating me is just amazing.”

The award ceremony took place during the MSVF Annual Physician Gala on Oct. 19.