group photo

Congratulations to the newest members of the EVMS Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS).

GHHS recognizes individuals for practicing patient-centered medical care by modeling the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy.

Members may be selected as third-year medical students. Residents, faculty and administrators may also be recognized for humanistic practice at various stages in their career.

Humanism in medicine describes relationships between physicians and their patients that are respectful and compassionate. It is reflected in attitudes and behaviors that are sensitive to the values, autonomy, and cultural and ethnic backgrounds of others.

MD Class of 2024 Inductees:

Vishal Aggroia

Asma Azam

Jason Bard

Katherine Becker

James Black III

Samuel Dickerson

Devon Dryer

Megan Duggins

Virginia Peyton

Evans Yunjoo Hwang

Hannah James

Rayghan Larick

Jonathan Light

Elizabeth Lindsay

Nour Mhaimeed

Joshua Payne

Irene Peppiatt

Catherine Read

Juliana Remo

Lavinia Wainwright

Resident Inductees:

Brian Bird, MD, Ophthalmology

John Janousek, DO, Internal Medicine

Elizabeth Miller, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Ashley Nelsen, MD, Emergency Medicine

Robert Probst, MD, Family & Community Medicine

Shekinah Vaughn, MD, Pediatrics

Faculty Inductees:

Stanley Brittman, MD, Associate Professor of Clinical Family and Community Medicine

Jessica Burgess, MD, Associate Professor of Surgery

Julie Kerry, PhD, Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology

Jessica Quirk, MD, Assistant Professor of Family and Community Medicine

Award Winners:

Thomas R. Pellegrino Humanism in Medicine Gold Reflex Hammer Award: Scott Vergano, MD, Pediatrics

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award: Aaron Mills, DO, Internal Medicine

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award: Fatima Arif, MD Class of 2023