The Committee includes representatives from departments and organizations within Sentara and EVMS.

Members of the Committee will provide non-binding strategic advice and informed guidance to the institute's activities. They will implement the strategic direction set forth by the joint governance board, build community partnerships, evaluate and approve research projects submitted by the faculty, and establish the institute's standards and compliance. Suggested members for the council are:


Voting members:

  • Margaret Baumgarten, MD - Professor, Family & Community Medicine, EVMS & Chief Quality Officer, EVMS Medical Group
  • Donald Combs, PhD - Vice President and Dean, School of Health Professions
  • Sunita Dodani, MD, PhD - HADSI Founding Director, Chair HADSI Steering Committee
  • Marybeth S. Hughes, MD, FACS - Chief of Surgical Oncology, Department of Surgical Oncology
  • Cynthia C. Romero, MD - Director, The Brock Institute for Community and Global Health
  • John Semmes, PhD - Director, Leroy T. Canoles Cancer Research Center
  • Brynn Sheehan, PhD - Assistant Professor, EVMS-Sentara Healthcare Analytics and Delivery Science Institute
  • Elias Siraj, MD - Director, Strelitz Diabetes Center

From Sentara

Voting members:

  • Cynthia Allen - Vice President, Sentara Health Care
  • David Baran, MD - Sentara Cardiology Specialist
  • Michael Hooper, MD - Vice President of Medical Affairs
  • Sam Owens - Director, Sentara IT Enterprise Data Services
  • David Torgerson - Sentara Healthcare, Vice President of Enterprise Analytics
  • Michael S. Eggert - Pulmonary Hypertension Program, Sentara Heart Hospital Co-Chair, Sentara Health Critical Care HPT

Non-Voting members:

  • Kristi Morgan, DNP, RN, CCRN, Manager, Analytics Services/Clinical & Business Intelligence