2018 MLK Breakfast Artwork

Urban League of Hampton Roads, Inc., has selected the following six individuals to receive its annual Community Leaders’ Awards, which honor the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.: 

  • Father James Curran, Rector, Basilica of St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception
  • Anderson Foreman Jr., Pastor, New Galillee Missionary Baptist Church
  • Karen Hills Pruden, President and CEO, Pruden Global Business Solutions
  • Sharon Sheffield, Physician, OB-GYNS Physicians, Inc.
  • Winston Whitehurst Sr., Second Vice President, Let’s Make a Difference 

New this year is the Rising Community Leader Award, which will be presented to Montae Taylor, a student at Old Dominion University. 

The awards will be presented at the 34th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Leaders’ Breakfast to be held at 8 a.m. Monday, Jan. 15, 2018, at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott in downtown Norfolk. 

EVMS is the co-host of the breakfast with the Urban League. Other sponsors include Norfolk State University and Old Dominion University. Individual tickets are $40 until Jan. 10, 2018. After Jan. 10, the price is $50, but this event usually sells out. 

Sponsorships are still available. For more information, call 757.627.0864 or visit the Urban League website.