for NIH Grant story

L.D. Britt, MD, MPH, the Edward J. Brickhouse Chair in Surgery, the Henry Ford Professor of Surgery, and Chair and Professor of EVMS Surgery, was recently inducted into the inaugural class of the Academy of Master Surgeon Educators.

Created by the American College of Surgeons (ACS), the academy brings together a select group of surgeons from around the world to serve as a “think tank for advancing the science of surgical education and unveiling new technology for the enhancement of education.”

Dr. Britt is not only a founding member, but also served as co-chair of the ACS steering committee that developed the academy.

"This is a landmark new program," says Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, Director of the ACS Division of Education and co-chair of the academy steering committee. "Dr. Britt’s strong leadership, expertise in surgical education and exemplary professionalism were key to its successful launch."  

Dr. Britt presided over the inauguration ceremony. 

“I am delighted to have been made an inaugural member of the Academy of Master Surgeon Educators," O. James Garden, CBEE, the Regius Chair of Clinical Surgery at the University of Edinburgh, says. "I trust that I can bring an international perspective in delivering the admirable goals of the Academy, drawing from my own educational strengths and experience, particularly in the delivery of quality online surgical education.”