Interim Chair of Neurology named

Story Date: Mon, 22 Sep 2014 09:03:00 EDT

Interim Chair of NeurologyRichard Homan, MD, President and Provost of EVMS and Dean of the School of Medicine; and Terry Gilliland, MD, Chief Medical Officer for Sentara Healthcare, recently announced that Daniel Cohen, MD, has been selected to serve as the Interim Chair of Neurology at EVMS.

Dr. Cohen has been an integral member of the team at Sentara Neurology Specialists since 2011 as the Director of Cognitive Neurology. Additionally, he has been the Neurology Clerkship Director for the M3 Neuropsychiatry Clerkship since its inception in 2012.

Dr. Cohen assumed the role as Interim Clinical Chief of Neurology for Sentara Medical Group following Dr. Richard Zweifler’s departure in July 2014.  Dr. Cohen will be charged with leading the interface between Sentara's Clinical Neuroscience mission and EVMS’ research and teaching missions.

After graduating with a bachelor’s degree in nutritional sciences, Dr. Cohen received his medical degree from the University of Florida. He then went on to complete his residency in neurology and fellowship training in cognitive neurology and neurophysiology with concentration in sleep medicine at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Harvard Medical School followed by a research fellowship in sleep and circadian neurobiology at Brigham & Women’s Hospital. He has subspecialty board certifications in both behavioral neurology and sleep medicine.

Before joining Sentara Neurology Specialists, Dr. Cohen served as a staff neurologist at Beth Israel Deaconess and as an Assistant Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School. His research interests have focused on the interface between sleep and cognition, including work on sleep-dependent memory consolidation and the effects of sleep loss and circadian misalignment on neurobehavioral performance. 

In addition to his membership with several professional societies, he serves on the Medical & Scientific Advisory Committee for the Alzheimer’s Association - Southeastern Virginia Chapter, the Peer Review Committee at Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, and as a member of the Board of Directors at the Virginia Academy of Sleep Medicine.

All News » |  <Previous | Next>