In this Section

News (Public)

Dermatology residents win national competition

Story Date: Thu, 22 Mar 2012 10:28:00 CDT

A six-person team of EVMS Dermatology residents recently clinched a first place victory in the national 6th Annual Dermtopathology Bowl at the American Academy of Dermatology meeting in San Diego.

The contest consisted of diagnosing dermatologic diseases under the microscope (dermatopathology). The EVMS team outscored 48 other groups from across the country, and defeated Yale in the finals to earn the trophy and a $5000 donation toward their resident education fund.

Team members were residents Clare Foss, Brett Blake, Kalyani Marathe, Shilpa Sawardeckar and Stefanie Hirano.