In this Section

Alpha Omega Alpha

Virginia Gamma Chapter

Annual Ceremony

The next Annual Induction Ceremony is scheduled for Wednesday, May 13, 2015 beginning at 6:00 p.m. at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott.

All EVMS-affiliated members of Alpha Omega Alpha, including faculty, alumni, house officers, and students are cordially invited to attend with their guests. Invitations will be sent in March of 2015.

 “Be worthy to serve the suffering”

Alpha Omega Alpha was founded in 1902, and is the national medical honor society.  Since 1902, there have been more than 150,000 members elected into the society.  Alpha Omega Alpha is to medicine what Phi Beta Kappa is to letters and the humanities and Sigma Xi is to science. More than fifty Nobel Prize winners in Physiology or Medicine, and in Chemistry, have been AΩA members. More than thirty of those were elected to AΩA prior to winning the Nobel Prize.

Alpha Omega Alpha is dedicated to the belief that in the profession of medicine we will improve care for all by recognizing high educational achievement, honoring gifted teaching, encouraging the development of leaders in academia and the community, supporting the ideals of humanism, promoting service to others.

The top 25 percent of a medical school class is eligible for nomination to the society, and up to 16 percent may be elected based on leadership, character, community service, and professionalism. Members may also be elected by chapters after demonstrating scholarly achievement and professional contributions and values during their careers in medicine. Distinguished professionals may also be elected to honorary membership

Taken from the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society website 

About the Chapter

Faculty Councilor 

Leonard J. Weireter Jr., MD, FACS

Arthur and Marie Kirk Family Professor of Surgery

Counselor of the EVMS Alpha Omega Alpha Chapter

Eastern Virginia Medical School


President: Patrick Morgan

Vice President: Daniel Young

Student Members elected in the Spring of 2014:

  • Baraki, Austin
  • Ballard, Daniel
  • Frames, William
  • Johnson, Kelly
  • Morgan, Patrick
  • Shah, Ishan
  • Tzavaras, TJ
  • Young, Daniel

Resident Members elected in the Spring of 2014:

  • Brad Murray, MD
  • Timothy Peterson, MD
  • Adam Sawyer, MD
  • Jack Zuckerman, MD

 Faculty Members elected in the Spring of 2014:

  • Jay Collins, MD
  • Thomas Kimble, MD
  • Alexander Levitov, MD

News & Events

 AOA students advising their peers

If you are a first-year or second year medical student interested in contacting an AOA student for guidance, please email either Patrick Morgan  or Daniel Young with any questions.

 Congratulations to the Members Elected in the Fall of 2014

  • Baker, Stephanie
  • Baugh, Katherine
  • Hawken, Jennifer
  • Hines, Jeremy
  • Hogan, Jessica
  • Maurer, Christian
  • Ramadorai, Vishant
  • Ramsdell, Geoff
  • Restaino, Kathyrn
  • Schmiesing, Andrew
  • Tobin, Chase
  • Todd, Kevin
  • Walck, Natalie
  • Yang, Edward


 2015 AOA Induction Banquet


Wednesday, May 13th 2015  6:00 p.m. at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Keynote Speaker

Cynthia Romero, MD, FAAFP

Director, M. Foscue Brock Institute

For Community & Global Health


Please contact Patrick Morgan if you are a member of Alpha Omega Alpha and would like to RSVP, or if you have general questions.


All EVMS-affiliated members of Alpha Omega Alpha, including faculty, alumni, house officers, and students are cordially invited to attend with their guests. 


Alpha Omega Alpha National Honor Medical Society