Research Laboratories

Faculty members have dedicated research laboratory space located within the various buildings on the EVMS campus. These labs, staffed by dedicated principle investigators, research associates, technicians and students are the foundation of the schools research efforts.

Oliver John Semmes, Ph.D.


Leroy T. Canoles Jr. Cancer Research Center

Department of Microbiology and Molecular Cell Biology

Harry T. Lester Hall 426
651 Colley Avenue
Norfolk, Virginia 23501
Office: (757) 446-5904


  • Biomedical Sciences Program


  • B.S. Auburn University
  • M.S. University of West Florida
  • Ph.D. George Washington University
  • Post Doctoral Fellow - National Institute of Health

Professional Positions


  • Director, Leroy T. Canoles, Jr. Cancer Research Center
    Eastern Virginia Medical School

2005 - Present

  • Professor
    Department of Pathology and Anatomy
    Eastern Virginia Medical School

2004 - Present

  • Professor
    Department of Microbiology & Molecular Cell Biology
    Eastern Virginia Medical School

2001 - 2004

  • Associate Professor
    Department of Microbiology & Molecular Cell Biology
    Eastern Virginia Medical School

1997 - 2001

  • Assistant Professor
    Department of Microbiology
    University of Virginia

1996 - 1997

  • Research Associate
    Department of Pharmacology
    Johns Hopkins Medical Institute

Lab Members



  • Ph.D. - The University of Hong Kong,
    School of Medicine - 2000
    Hong Kong, China

Sucharita M. Dutta
Senior Research Associate

  • Ph.D. - Emory University - 2005
    Atlanta, Georgia

LilFang Yang

  • M.D. - Peking University Health Science Center - 1998
    Peking, China
  • Ph.D. - Eastern Virginia Medical School - 2010
    Norfolk, Virginia
  Hampus Alexander Anders Engström
Research Assistant
  • M.S. - Eastern Virginia Medical School - 2014
    Norfolk, Virginia

Vanessa L. Correll

  • B.S. - Christopher Newport University - 2013
    Newport News, Virginia

Left to Right:
Hampus Engström, Yaobin Liu, Xin Guo, Sucharita Dutta,
John Semmes, Claire Broughman, Lilfang Yang