In this Section

Alpha Omega Alpha Awards & Annual Ceremony

AOA Logo header

 Annual ΑΩΑ Induction Ceremony

The Annual Ceremony officiates membership in the Alpha Omega Alpha Society (AOA) and brings together AOA physicians from the region and beyond.  AΩA the only academic medical honor society in the United States, welcomes, recognizes, and encourages high scholarship and moral standards and urges students and physicians to be “worthy to serve the suffering.” 

The Annual Induction Ceremony was held Thursday May 16, 2013, 6:15 PM at Town Point Club, 101 W Main Street Norfolk, Virginia. Keynote Speaker Aaron I. Vinik, MD, PhD, FCP, MACP, Professor of Medicine/Pathology/Neurobiology, Director of Research and Neuroendocrine Unit, Strelitz Diabetes Center for Endocrine and Metabolic Disorders spoke. 

2014 Ceremony

The 2014 Ceremony is currently scheduled for Thursday May 15, 2014 in Norfolk, Virginia.

All EVMS-affiliated members of Alpha Omega Alpha, including faculty, alumni, house officers and students are cordially invited to attend with their guests. Invitiation will be mailed out in early 2014.  


AΩA was founded by medical students, and to this day, it remains a student organization.  New members are usually elected as medical students, but the society’s constitution does permit the election of a limited number of residents, faculty, and alumni. All new members are elected by student members of AΩA, not by the faculty or administration. Faculty advisors to AΩA (the Secretary-Treasurer and the Councilor) supervise and assist the process, but are not active participants.

Election to AOA is an honor conferred by  fellow students.  Academic excellence is the primary criterion for election to AOA, but the selection process has been designed to include consideration and recognition of other personal characteristics and achievements.

Annual Membership Selection Awards

Eastern Virginia Medical School Faculty

Eastern Virginia Medical School Alumni

Eastern Virginia Medical School Residents

 Award Opportunities 

‌‌Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award

"Volunteer clinical faculty members are often inadequately appreciated and rarely recognized. Alpha Omega Alpha's Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award is presented annually to recognize a community physician who contributes with distinction to the education and training of clinical students.

The national office of AΩA provides a permanent plaque for the Dean's office; a plate with the name of each year's awardee may be added each spring. The awardee receives a framed certificate and engraved key ring from Alpha Omega Alpha. Recipients of the award are not eligible to receive it more than once. Nominees need not be members of AΩA, nor does the award confer AΩA membership.

Nominations for the Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award may be made by all clinical students, with the recipient chosen by student members of the AΩA chapter."

"Nominate a community physician, not on the full-time or part-time faculty, who effectively and generously donates his or her time, skill, and experience to teach you clinical skills."

Deadline is March 30 of each year for the EVMS AΩA chapter.

2013 Postgraduate Award

"The opportunity: Support to allow AΩA residents or fellows to pursue a project in the spirit of the AΩA mission statement. Projects must fall into one of five categories:

1. Research: Support for clinical investigation, basic laboratory research, epidemiology, or social science/health services research.

2. Service: Local or international service work, focusing on underprivileged or immigrant populations or those in the developing world, as well as patient and population education projects.

3. Teaching and education: Research, development, or implementation of education academic curricula, with the focus on postgraduate education.

4. Leadership: Leadership development.

5. Humanism and professionalism: Projects designed to encourage understanding, development, and retention of traits of humanism and professionalism among physicians, directed to physicians in postgraduate training.

The awards: Up to ten awards of $2000, one-half paid on announcement of the award and one-half on approval of the final report. Schools, departments, and/or programs are encouraged to provide additional or matching funds.

Eligibility: Medical residents and fellows from programs at institutions with an active AΩA chapter or association. Applicants must be AΩA members and must be nominated by their residency or fellowship program directors. Only one application from each program may be sent to the chapter councilor, who will then select one application from the chapter.

Dates for application:

1. Proposals must be submitted to the councilor before April 30, 2013.

2. The final application to the national office must be received no later than May 31, 2013."