In this Section

United for Children: Young Terrace

About Young Terrace

More than 41,000 children live in poverty in South Hampton Roads. Many of those children reside in Young Terrace, which is not only the poorest neighborhood in Norfolk, but also in the poorest 1 percent in the nation.

Working with the families and the community, with a goal to help give these children the chance for a better life, a collective impact initiative has been created called United for Children: Young Terrace. Collective impact is a disciplined effort through which organizations establish a common vision and pursue evidence-based actions in mutually reinforcing ways. Successful collective-impact initiatives encompass five key requirements, distinguishing them from other types of collaboration:

  • Common Agenda
  • Shared Measurement
  • Mutually Reinforcing Activities
  • Continuous Communication
  • Backbone Support

The United for Children: Young Terrace initiative focuses on education, character-building and access to health care. Seven major Norfolk-based organizations have come together to implement the initiative:

  • City of Norfolk
  • Eastern Virginia Medical School 
  • Hampton Roads Community Foundation
  • Norfolk Public Schools
  • Norfolk Redevelopment & Housing Authority 
  • Old Dominion University
  • United Way of South Hampton Roads

EVMS is taking the lead in integrating health into the programs of P. B. Young Elementary School, which serves Young Terrace students in pre-kindergarten through grade 5 and Booker T. Washington High School.  To accomplish this, several EVMS faculty and staff members serve on the four subcommittees within the United for Children initiative.


Prenatal to Pre-K Subcommittee

  • Judith Taylor-Fishwick, Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics

  • Mekbib Gemeda, Vice President, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Karen Remley, MD, MBA, FAAP, Founding Director, M. Foscue Brock Institute of Community and Global Health
  • Rebecca Cowan, Assistant Professor, Family and Community Medicine

P.B. Young Elementary Subcommittee

  • Richard Whalen, MD, Assistant Professor, Family and Community Medicine

Shared-Data Subcommittee

  • Hind Baydoun, Assistant Professor, School of Health Professions: Distance Learning
  • Vinnie Mitchell, Financial Analyst, Family and Community Medicine

Booker T. Washington Health Clinic Ad Hoc Subcommittee

  • Terri Babineau, MD, Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
  • Kaethe Ferguson, MS, EdD, Divsion Director, Community Health and Research, Department of Pediatrics
  • C.W. Gowen, Jr., MD, Chair of the EVMS Department of Pediatrics based at CHKD
  • Christine Matson, MD, Chair, Department of Family and Community Medicine

President, Provost and Dean, Richard V. Homan, MD, working with the incoming class of MD students on Community Impact Day at P.B. Young Elementary School